The Anchorage Community YMCA became incorporated as a non-profit in 1967. Prior to its incorporation, the Community YMCA had been operating community programs as a branch of the Armed Services YMCA in the community since the mid 1950’s. The Anchorage Community YMCA began offering programs in the community in 1956 as an extension of the Armed Services YMCA. Ian Anderson was the first Director who was a staff team of two and over a hundred volunteers who operated the following programs: Hi-Y, Tri-Y, summer resident camp at Kings Lake and summer fun clubs, 10-week arts & craft clubs, music class and the beginning of the Y Men’s Club.
In 1963 the Anchorage Community YMCA entered into a 55 year lease for 160 acres surrounding Peggy Lake. YMCA Camp Peggy Lake was then formed and used as a resident camp spot where campers would ride the train to and then hike into camp. A real rustic camp experience!!
By 1967 Anchorage Community YMCA programs had outgrown the Armed Services YMCA and became its own incorporated organization. The YMCA operated out of a building located downtown Anchorage (was the Covenant House) until the early 1970’s. The YMCA moved its office to a storefront located on Tudor Road when there was not much there.
In 1974, Jim and Joan Flood donated a piece of property (Jay Flood Memorial Park) to the YMCA on which to construct a new facility. The fund drive began and the current facility on Lake Otis was opened in 1978.